Anniversaries

By the time, I post this blog it will be a year since my mum was diagnosed and I find myself in a weird place.

I can tell you exactly where I was that day. I was at Reading Festival, I had just woken up in the afternoon after having my sleep (I was working night shifts) and I knew my mum was going to ring with the news. My mum never gave anything away; she simply confirmed what we had figured out some weeks before hand. As the call ended, I told her I loved her and went to watch The Hives play an amazing set.

In all honesty, the anniversary of my mum’s diagnose hasn’t been bothering me it is more what comes after. All too soon, November will be upon us and it will be a year since my mum passed away. Anniversaries are downright weird; some survivors celebrate them while those who have lost someone may dread the day.

For me, the next few months will come with their emotional struggles and it is just something I will have to battle through. The upcoming anniversaries are just a reminder that time has passed and I think that is the scariest part.

Leave a Reply

